top of page

I am who You say I am.

Ahh yes. The holidays. We, my dear, are in full swing of the them. We probably just gained a few pounds from Thanksgiving. (Or is that just me?) Black Friday and Cyber Monday shopping is all done. Christmas tree is set up and we have our Christmas and New Year trips/plans all written out. Which means road trips and airport visits are yet again about to go down. Funny how the song from Home Alone plays in my head as I typed that. You know, the one where the biggo family is late for their flight; running at full sprint across the airport with carry on bags, heavy coats, and all. Yeah, that one. :)

Speaking of airports, mind if I share a brief moment that I experienced just last week at the Midland, Texas airport with you? Okay, yay! I'm glad you're down. Grab a seat, it'll only take a sec. So yes, Stephen *my husband* and I were there at the airport right? Chillin in our thoughts, kind of lounging in the seats around our flight gate, waiting for our plane to arrive so we could get home. Lord knows how happy and full hearted I was to see and be able to spend time with family for Thanksgiving. But He also knows how ready I was to see my bed and hibernate for about a full day. Feel me?

Anyway, we're sitting there right? And while hanging out there, minding our own business, this little read head girl could do nothing but continue to be cute and make me seam like a weirdo for staring and smiling at her. I had first caught notice of her when we were going passed the baggage check. Before entering into the actual gate zone, you've gotta get your bags checked and yourself examined by security, making sure you ain't crazy and have any weapons or drugs on you and such. So I had to stash my nine... ha nah I'm playin'. But really, we passed the examination, and as we were putting our shoes back on, there's where I first spotted this little ginger cutie patutie.

I heard her sweet, pure and innocent voice say "I don't wanna go, daddy." I quickly turned around and seen that she was afraid of walking passed the censor stand. Yes, it was a simple two steps and your done type thing, but for some reason, this maybe three year old sweetness was fearful of walking passed. Her dad was right on the other side, knees bent in a low squat position with his arms out "come on baby, I'm right here. Just come to daddy, it's okay." My heart warmed just watching the brave young girl take a deep breath and just take the steps. Before she knew it, she was in her daddy arms and on her way to catch her flight.. with her daddy.

So fast forward back to the gate area where we were waiting. There she also was with her dad waiting as well. And like I said, there I was like a creep staring from afar. She was FaceTiming who I'm assuming was her mother or relative. Her cute little voice just talking away about the most random things that go through a toddlers mind, making time pass.

Ding! The Southwest spokesmen lady came over the area intercome "okay ladies and gentlemen, flight 5067 is about ready for boarding. If group A 1-30 can line up so we can get this show on the road" and yada yada yada, whatever else they say. We finally after about a thirty minute wait, rose to our feet and there I went making sure our boarding passes were on deck, and contemplating if I had to use the restroom or if I could wait. Then I heard Stephen chuckling with his aww how cute smile on his face. "What happened?" I mimicked his contagious giggle and smile, while following his eyes. It was the little girl. "What?" "Nothing, that little girl with the red hair... she's FaceTiming someone, and whoever she's talking to said she was weird, and she was like "I'm NOT weird. I am beautiful and my hair is beautiful." "Awww really?!" I grinned from ear to ear, sad that I missed it. I mean I was only in awe of her cuteness for the past hour. But whatever, Stephen seen it, and told me... good enough.

Now for the boarding process. Thankfully Southwest honors military and allows my husband and myself to board with the A group, otherwise we'd be lagging at the back of line B because homegirl NEVER remembers to check in early. Shake my head. *Hand on head emoji*.

We found decent seats, and once I got comfy, it didn't take long for me to think of that sweet little girl. I promise I'm not a weirdo! I just love kids. I have always worked with them, and just love how they're little minds function. And with this one, the reason she warmed my heart is because during that airport shenanigans, the Holy Spirit was ministering to me. Reminding me of the journey I've been on with him for the past ten years. All the times where I have said "I don't wanna." With fear almost paralyzing me. But then the voice of God whispering to my soul "come on beloved, come to me. Don't be afraid, I'm right here." And how a wave of fresh faith and strength smother me, because I trust Him, and I take that step. And how He always gets me through and meets me right where He says He will. Always.

Or how when whoever the lovely one was FaceTiming called her weird. And she, without a moments thought popped off with "I'm NOT weird. I'm beautiful, and my hair is beautiful." With all the confidence in the world as if she had heard those powerful confirmations spoken over her time and time again to where she knew no different no matter what ANYONE said or tried to speak over her. She believed with all her heart that she is beautiful, and so was her hair. (Mind you, she really was, and it really was.)

But just like that voice tried to speak over her, isn't it just like the enemy to try to speak a lie over us too?

"Look at you. You have kids, and stretch marks. Who would ever want to marry you and help take care of kids that aren't theirs? No one. You're all alone. Just face it." Or, "oh, here goes another time of trying to become healthy. You've weighed this much and have had this sickness most of your life. Why even try? Just give it up now, you're not gonna change." Or, "look where you come from, you come from nothing. You really think you can succeed in life? Why even bother trying to go back to school. It''ll be a waste of time. You'll either fail or drop out again. Because that's what you and/or family do, fail." Or when you scroll on Instagram or Facebook "she's so much prettier than you. That's why she has the life you want. But too bad, you'll never have it. Just look at you, you're ugly. No amount of make up can change that."

Do any of those sound familiar? Well Boo, let me tell you, THEY. ARE. LIES!!! LIES, LIES, LIES. I hope you can feel my hand on yours, looking you dead in your eyes. You are who God says you are! And He says that you were made in His image. (Genesis 1:27) So Baby Boo Boo, news flash.. God is flawless, meaning YOU are FLAWLESS! Your freckles, your boobs, your nose, your butt, your eyes, your personality, your errthaangg!! FLAWLESS. As far as where you come from, well.. last I read is we are a new creation in Christ Jesus. Meaning, Behold! He makes ALL things new. (Isaiah 43:19) So Beloved, you are not your family; go on and get you that degree or break them generations curses! Or to the single mommas reading this, He shall supply ALL your needs according to His riches and glory. (Philippians 4:19) Let Him be your husband first. Let Him love you, provide for you and help you take care of your kids. Then you'll know what kind of treatment to look for when it comes to knowing who is the one for you. You won't settle for just anyone. You'll know when God sends THE ONE. And if you have the desire to be a wife, then by God you're made to be one. Anyway, you get my drift... at least I hope. Because love, it's the TRUTH. You seriously are so so loved. And you seriously are so so perfect in His eyes. Focus on that. So that the next time someone trys to run up and speak non sense over you, you can pop off with a stern love... chest up and shoulders back "I am NOT (fill in the blanks), I am , and . Then smile, and walk off like the like a queen you were born to be.

With so much love, Boo.

Muah! - Brand

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page