top of page

Truth or feelings.

Hell.. a kingdom that I, and if you're a believer in Jesus Christ, you too have been fighting since the day you said yes to Him. I know I'm starting this blog with something a little blunt. But I, in this very moment am in the middle of fighting with one of my most powerful weapons... worship. And I just feel compelled to share this with you, Love. As I said, from the day I said yes to Jesus, I have learned that there is indeed a kingdom that is filled with very dark.. dark forces that HATE me. I not only sense them, I have spoken to them, I have fought them, I have been knocked down by them, but ultimately, I have the One in me that defeated them long before I was ever born. And He, has taught me to do the same.

Let me tell you a few stories (short ones, promise..kinda *wink*.)

My first memorable encounter with one of the enemies helpers: I was an eighteen year old senior at Brownfield High School, back in Texas. I was one year fresh into being a Christian. Trying to navigate and learn what this new life was about. Going through one of my first pruning seasons. Lots and lots of pruning to be done in this new life; still to this day of course, but more so in the beginning. And one of the first things I felt in my heart to do was pull away from most of my friends that I was close to for years. Not that they weren't worthy of being my friend anymore, because they are still to this day so so precious to me. However, for the road God had me on, they weren't ready for. A road of redemption. So it was lots of "nah I'm straight" to the "lets smoke, I got some." or the "club tonight?", "wanna match" "so and so called me out, you got me?" texts and phone calls I would get. I loved them, but something in me was coming alive and gaining the strength to say no to things that I now know were killing my spirit.

Months flew by, and word was out that "Brandy was a Christian now". Side note: I later found out that people I worked with placed bets on me, for how long I would last with this whole Jesus thing. Ten years later, I'm guessing people lost some money. For little did they know it wasn't some religious thing I gave into. I met my savior and was building a relationship with Him that is now unbreakable. Ahem.. anyway, I hadn't hung out with my old friends in awhile. Just loved and prayed for them from a distance. But I had heard from the grape vine that one of my closest friends was dating a much older man and was then smoking meth with him. Another fell into pills and cough medicine so deeply that ambulance were called to our highschool to pick her up because she had overdosed. My heart hurt so deeply for my friends. I would cry and just pray and pray for them, I even felt compelled to go knocking on one of their doors one night to tell her how much Jesus loves her and how she was headed down the wrong path. Gave her an invitation to join me on this road of freedom.. but she refused. Oh how my heart just ached for them. I can only imagine how Jesus feels for us when we are steadily hurting ourselves and how He sends people to invite us to freedom, but we refuse. (Yes, I say we.. I've been guilty one too many times my friend. I always say "if not for His grace.") So yes, my heart ached. And one random day, I went to the restroom at school, and as I walk out of the stall, I notice my friend (who was then smoking meth) just standing in front of the restroom mirror, staring straight at me through the mirror with this dark smirk on her face. Immediately, I felt such a draining and foul presence in the atmosphere. I simply walked towards the sink to wash my hands, as I'm washing them, she's still staring at me through mirror and finally speaks "don't you think its funny how all your friends turned out Brandy." *dark smirk still lingering on her face*. In that moment I felt a strength and power rise up in my soul, looked her right in the eyes but didn't see her, I seen something evil in those dark eyes, but fear did not exist in my spirit, and boldly replied "YOU are NOT my friend"... turned around and walked out. Then thought "wow.. that was not her." A little shaken up, I went back to class.

The next encounter that I can remember at the top of my head, it was about a year after that one. Nineteen years old. I had graduated high school and attempted college, didn't work out. Still couldn't let go of the toxic and highly unhealthy relationship I had. Fell back into occasionally smoking weed (it was one long journey to fully let that stuff go). Needless to say, it was hard for me to grow much more than I already had in the past two years.. something had to give.

I had my own little house, and would peacefully fall asleep each night. But there was one particular night that would forever change my spiritual life. I was up late watching t.v in my living room. When this sudden fear just crept over me. I just could not close my eyes. The whole atmosphere was heavy and full of fear out of nowhere. Forcing my eyes shut, I just said His name "Jesus.. Jesus.. Jesus" until I fell asleep and began to dream. A loud knock came from my front door, as if it wasn't a dream, everything looking like it did in real life. I get up from my couch and walk over to answer. There stood a tall, dark, and handsome man. Glorious smile, slick burnette hair, dreamy grey blue eyes, in a nice grey suit, tie and holding a brief case. "Hi there! I'm selling something that I think you'll be interested in.. may I come in?" "Uh.. sure?" A little hesitant, but allowing him in. He waisted no time opening his brief case and showing me whatever was in it. At that moment, it was as if I could see myself from another persons eyes. I seen a glow come over my face at whatever was in that brief case. I wanted it. But I abruptly heard the Holy Spirit for one of the first times who said "Beloved, that is the devil himself.. command Him to get out now." In a seconds time, I seemed to have snapped out of it and look him dead in his eyes, knew he was NOT that shiny man, and said "I know who you are.. and you need to get out of my house NOW." His voice then turned demonic as he opened his mouth and laughed with his foul breath in my face and said a simple "No." And looked me dead in my eyes as well. "Satan, you are no longer allowed in my life!! I command you to leave my house RIGHT NOW in the name of JESUS!!" I said loudly and boldly. Putting both hands up, "okay okay.." he said in a teasing voice. And magically ended up at the very front of my yard in a seconds time, walking away. But his voice was right in my ear as I watched him walk away "just remember Brandy, I hear your prayers too... Jesus.. Jesus.. Jesus" he said, again in a teasing voice. And then I woke up, panting and thinking what in the world. How it all felt so real! Thankfully church was the next day where I couldn't wait to go to and just worship. And during worship, hands lifted, singing, eyes closed.. *ahhh MY GOD!* My spiritual momma (to this day) walks up to me, and places her hand on my left shoulder. I opened my eyes and she leaned in towards my ear to whisper "Mija.. the Lord wants to gift you with the gift of praying in the spirit." I freaked out. It was something I had admired about her.. how she prayed so boldly in the spirit.. but never for a second did I think that was for me. I was just a little girl from the streets. How could I ever carry such gift? But there He was... presenting the gift. She led me to the alter, laid her hands on me and said "just give your will to the Lord mija." She began to pray and I remember thinking "I can't do this Lord.. I'm not the one for this?" In that moment she stopped praying, looked at me and said "Mija.. don't doubt what the Holy Spirit wants to do in you." Completely shocked at how she could discern my doubt, I then knew God indeed was right there. "Have your way Lord." I said. And BOOM... a peaceful electricity flowed through my body and out of my mouth. Soon after, I learned that it was a language that the enemy could NOT understand. And I was instructed to pray in that language in my alone time from that day on. That is another weapon that is powerful. When I go to battle for my friends and family, or anyone really.. I mostly pray in the spirit.

Now I could go on to tell about the casting demons out, the healing over a few people, the peace that flows over me when I speak the blood of Jesus over my anxiety, my stress, my worries etc. But I believe the meaning for this specific blog is to empower you to begin to believe you can do the exact same! Ohhh the boldness, power and authority that comes with receiving Jesus as your Lord and savior and inviting the Holy Sprit in! Friend, you don't have to deal with that junk! Yes, depression, anxiety, addiction and all the other things we get diagnosed by this world do exist! I am by all means not saying they don't. Just like the enemy came for my mind a couple of days ago when I felt alone, and my husband and I had hot friction between us for days. Thoughts came over that were NOT from God, and stress ran through my body making it ache and my head throb.. with solid time in my word, and by speaking out loud that no weapon formed against me or my marriage will prosper! And declaring other scripture over myself, my home and my marriage, I was back to flowing with the joy of the Lord in no time.

I gave my self a word back then. Once I had read in the book of Acts about the Jewish exorcists taking it upon themselves to use the name of Jesus without truly believing in Him and without receiving the Holy Spirit. How the demon that they tried casting out basically made fun of them for trying by saying "Jesus I know, Paul I know.. but who are you?" [Acts 19:15] - The word I gave to myself was that the demons will know me for my faith in Jesus! That by the time I leave this world, they will remember me as a women that they TRIED taking out countless times, but never succeeded because of the God that was in her! Like one of my role models/mentors from afar (Joyce Meyer) says: "There's only two places I care about being famous.. Heaven and Hell." Come on friend, God is no respecter of persons. Meaning, if He can do it for me, He can and WILL gladly do it for you if you just believe and receive! Trust over what you feel, Boo! You have someone on your side that carries the name above ALL names!! I don't know who this is for.. whether you've been knocked down and need this pick me up, or you're reading about this accessible Heavenly power for the first time. Get back in that race girl!! You have a destiny to fulfill! If you woke up today, you still have purpose on this earth! Let's not go to the grave wishing we would have carried that power.. the time is now, Beloved. Ask and you shall receive. No more defeated days! You got this! Let's go!

If you made it this far, might as well pray pray with me. :)

First timers: "Jesus, I am a sinner and need you. Thank you for dying on the cross for me. Holy Spirit, come on in and make me new! I ask that you do what only you can do in and through me! Give me strength to submit to the power that can move mountains. Make me a world changer in Jesus name."

If you're coming back, pray this: "Father, forgive me for where I've wondered. I'm coming back home. Holy Spirit, use me to bring you're light wherever I go. Finish what you've started in me. Thank you for your grace. Give me a word, and give me strength and wisdom to obey. I know you love me. Help me to do what you creatively made to do. In Jesus name."

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page