top of page

Pitiful or Powerful

Pitiful; if you look up the definition to that word, you'll find that it means very small, or poor. And on the contrary, we have the word powerful. If you look up the meaning to that word, you'll see that it means 'having great power or strength.' Now as I sit at my dining room table and simmer on those two words, the words that The Lord just spoke to me at 3.a.m and had me get up and write about, I can't help but think of people. Not just ordinary people, but particular people like Tyler Perry, Oprah Winfrey, Joyce Meyer just to name a few. My guess as to why those people come to mind as the word powerful is sat on the table is because of their childhood stories, and where they are now.

For instance, Tyler Perry... being abused as a child by molestation and violence to the point of having to use his imagination to escape. Oprah Winfrey, born into poverty also molested during her childhood, became pregnant at age fourteen, and with having her son prematurely, he passed away in infancy. And as most of us know, Joyce Meyer. Sexually abused by her father throughout her entire childhood and teenage years with her mother knowing and not doing anything to stop it. That's just to name a few. I guarantee I can go on with names that you probably know from them making a positive legacy, but I'm sure you get the drift. Powerful powerful people ya'll.

I'm sure that at some point in their life they wanted to sit in their pity (with reason) and wallow in it for the rest of their lives. Use that excuse to not become or do anything because their childhood was taken from them. But as my colorful imagination begins to do its thing, it tells me that at some point in their early timeline, after or maybe even during the pain and sorrow, they had a God given revelation. I wanna bet that they received a word from Heaven that sounded something like, "You can either be pitiful or powerful, but you can't be both." And this morning as I'm typing these words, I sense that there are some that are in that pivotal moment in life theirselves.

I can hear the Holy Spirit saying that it's a crucial time for some of His people. You know who you are. You've been down and out due to the heaviness of circumstances that have happened to you. Things that are simply unjustified and wrong. Which is causing you to knowingly or unknowingly self sabotage out of the hurt that is rooting in your heart. But can I just be a friend and say, I've been there? Because my God, I have. But the thing that gets me more fired up than anything is the thought of the enemy winning any particular battle I may be facing. These days, I just won't have it. There have been nights that I filled my pillow with tears, or if we wanna rewind a decade, smoke so many blunts where I can't remember. Which was a good thing for me at the time. Sleep with different men so I could feel loved or wanted even just for a moment. Fight on the streets to release some anger that was built up in me, or to prove that I had some kind of strength to mask the weakness I truly felt inside. Steal at every store or house I walked into just to have control over something in my life. Pure self sabotage.

Until there was that very same word I received from Heavens realm, that pivotal moment of... I could either be pitiful or powerful. My friend, can I invite and encourage you to choose powerful with me? Also, can I just speak over you today that you ARE NOT pitiful.

And if I can go one step further to be a little raw, your circumstances don't define you. Just because you had a lousy childhood doesn't mean you have to be a lousy adult. Or if something drastic has happened to you, God bless you Boo because I know it hurts! But those circumstances were not allowed in your life to weaken you, they were made to strengthen you! Don't get it twisted! It's time for us believers in Christs to toughen up and not like no buttercup. But like the powerful warrior we are destined to be! Because friend, you have a calling and a purpose to fulfill on this earth. And it sadly won't be fulfilled of you choose pitiful. And I promise and hope that you can feel it through these words that I'm saying this with nothing but love.

Plan of action:

*with the high hopes that you choose powerful*

1. Reach out to a person that truly has a deep relationship with God or a professional counselor, ask them to hear you out on what you've been going through or went through. I pray right now that the Lord would put that right person on your heart so clearly. Because you have got to let that stuff out, Boo. "What you reveal, God will heal."

2. Get in or back into the Word of God. The book of Ephesians is a great place to start in this particular case.

3. Find and get plugged into a bible based church (pray and ask the Holy Spirit to show you which one is a good fit for you.) I guarantee you will meet people who will walk along side you through your healing stages.

4. Ask the Lord to help you remove yourself from toxic and hindering relationships.

5. Talk to God daily, seriously it never has to sound fancy. Just talk to Him, He's always listening. Get to know Him and His out of this world character. From there He'll help you (you'll begin to know when and how he speaks to you) step by step on how to evolve into that powerful being that you have been destined to be from before you were born.

Now I'll wrap this thang up with a friendly reminder: It's all about the process, Love. The process is what constantly refines our character. Annnddd I'll just ruin the surprise... we will always be in process. :)

But hey, we will elevate from glory to glory along the way as long as we let the process run its course.

Oh and a huge p.s,

Where we are weak, He is and will always be strong. So try not to be too hard on yourself through this journey. :)

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page